Skip to Content


Tomás Rivera Award Director


Dr. Sandra Murillo-Sutterby is a faculty member of Texas State University and serves as Director for the Tomás Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award. She was born in Mexico, but immigrated to the United States at a young age. She became a book enthusiast and has dedicated her life to all things bookish but is particularly passionate about stories that reflect her Latino experiences.

She began her career as an elementary educator, teaching in various cities around Texas, and even overseas. She earned her PhD from Texas A&M-Corpus Christi in Curriculum & Instruction with an emphasis in Reading. She enjoys teaching literacy, teacher preparation, and bilingual courses in Spanish. She can be contacted at

National Committee

Denise Davila, Assistant Professor, University of Nevada
Manuel M. Martín-Rodríguez, Professor, University California, Merced
Patricia Enciso, Associate Professor, The Ohio State University
Phillip Serrato, Associate Professor, San Diego State University
Oralia Garza de Cortés, Latino Children's Literature Advocate
Rolando Hinojosa-Smith, Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Regional Committee

Are you interested in Latino children’s and young adult books? Join the Regional Committee. Contact Director, Sandra Murillo-Sutterby at

  • Bibiana Bermudez, ELL/LOTE Program Coordinator, Boerne ISD
  • Don Bos, Librarian, Austin ISD
  • Amy Cummins, Associate Professor and English Education Coordinator, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Priscilla Delgado, Information Literacy Specialist, San Marcos CISD
  • Jesse Gainer, Associate Professor, Texas State University
  • Diana Garcia, Bilingual Educator, San Marcos CISD
  • Frances Gonzalez-Garcia, K-5 ELAR/Dyslexia Coordinator, Boerne ISD
  • Gina Guzman, English Teacher, San Marcos CISD
  • Mary Esther Huerta, Associate Professor, Texas State University
  • Blanca Infante, Academic Facilitator, East Central ISD
  • Lucinda Juarez, Visiting Professor of Reading, University of Texas San Antonio
  • Judy Leavell, Associate Professor, St. Edward’s University
  • Ileana Liberatore, Professional Development School Coordinator, Lee HS/ International School of the Americas, Northeast ISD
  • Minda Morren Lopez, Associate Professor, Texas State University
  • Blanca Loya, Lecturer, Texas State University
  • Sergio Martinez, Associate Professor, Texas State University
  • Cynthia Molinar, Librarian, Medio Creek Elementary, Southwest ISD
  • Kim Morgan-Benson, Information Literacy Specialist, San Marcos CISD
  • Sandra Murillo-Sutterby, Director, Rivera Book Award, Texas State University
  • Sharon O’Neal, Associate Professor, Texas State University
  • Yolanda Peca, Lecturer, Texas State University
  • Charise Pimentel, Associate Professor, Texas State University
  • Teya Rosenberg, Professor, Texas State University
  • Arlene Salazar, Research, Instruction & Outreach Librarian, Texas State University
  • Debora F. Tomaselli, Program and Outreach Librarian, San Marcos Public Library
  • Graeme Wend-Walker, Associate Professor, Texas State University