Skip to Content

Dean's Message

Annoucement on Appointment of Dean

Dean Michael O'Malley
Michael O'Malley, Ed.D.

May 15, 2018
Dr. Gene Bourgeois, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Michael P. O’Malley as dean of the College of Education, effective August 1, 2018.

Dr. O’Malley earned a B.A. in philosophy, M.A. in theology, and M.Div. from Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary. He earned an Ed.D. in interdisciplinary educational leadership from Saint Joseph’s University. Dr. O’Malley came to Texas State University in 2008 as an assistant professor and was promoted to professor in 2016. He currently serves as chair of the Department of Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education, and School Psychology. Dr. O’Malley was awarded a teaching and research Fulbright award in Chile in 2012, is an honorary professor of international studies, and serves as associate director of publications for the University Council for Educational Administration. He directed the Ph.D. in school improvement program at Texas State. Prior to entering higher education, he was a secondary school teacher, assistant principal for academic affairs, and principal.

Dr. O’Malley’s research agenda focuses on leadership for educational equity in PK-12 schools and on public pedagogies of social transformation.
His recent research projects have investigated social justice frameworks in PK-12 principal preparation programs nationally, the implementation of a new Chilean national model to enhance school leaders’ capacity for advancing educational inclusion, and pedagogies of social transformation in Chile via institutions and social movements. He leads Project LEARN-Chile, a transnational research and learning collaboration across doctoral programs in education at Texas State, Universidad Alberto Hurtado, and Universidad Diego Portales. This project has been funded by 100,000 Strong in the Americas. Dr. O’Malley’s research is published in prominent journals such as the Review of Educational Research, Educational Administration Quarterly, Journal of Curriculum Studies, and International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education. In both 2011 and 2012, he received the college-level presidential distinction award for scholarship.